Skip to content


Eagle Required Merit Badges

You need 21 of the the 121 merit badges to be Eagle, but there are 12 REQUIRED merit badges.

Of the 21 merit badges, 12 are REQUIRED for Eagle Scout; these include:

  • First Aid
  • Citizenship in the Community
  • Citizenship in the Nation
  • Citizenship in the World
  • Communications
  • Personal Fitness
  • Environmental Science
  • Personal Management
  • Camping
  • Family Life
  • Emergency Preparedness or Lifesaving
  • Swimming or Hiking or Cycling.

NOTE 1:  Sustainability merit badge will be introduced at the 2013 National Jamboree as an alternative to Environmental Science merit badge.
NOTE 2:  Cooking merit badge will be revised and required as of January 1, 2014, bringing the total required to 13